Small Moments

I remember our wedding day, more specifically, every detail from the moment my Dad knocked on the hotel room door.

“Are you ready?” he asked.

“Yep.” I answered.

“You look beautiful.” he whispered.

“Thanks, Dad.” I replied.

“Last minute bathroom check?” he questioned.

“Nope, I’m good.” I responded.

“Here we go.” he said moving towards the door.

I was sure this was going to be a piece of cake.  I was marrying the man of my dreams – my best friend.  Being with Shane had been easy from the beginning, comfortable, like we had known each other for a lifetime.  But as soon as I took my Dad’s arm and started that walk to the alter I lost it.  Something caught in my throat and I found it difficult to choke back the tears.  I began to cry, you know, that ugly cry that takes control of your entire body and brings with it uncontrollable sobs, the sting of hot tears, and fear.  Fear that you won’t be able to pull yourself together and appear like a lady.  Now, I am not saying that I am usually a perfect lady on a daily basis, but today was special.

My Dad slowed his steps and spoke softly, “Come on girl, get it together.”  You can do this, take a deep breath.  Everything will be alright.  It’s just you and me right now, taking a stroll through this beautiful garden.”

“I know, Dad.  It’s just a little scary.” I cried.

He turned slightly to look at me and said, “Life is full of scary moments, girl.  But I know that whatever is thrown your way, you are strong enough to face it.  After all, I raised you to be fearless.”

One thought on “Small Moments

Leave a comment